The Comstock Post Office was established on February 28, 1832. It was originally housed in many different types of buildings, such as a grocery store, an old hotel, railroad stations, cleaners, the rear of the odd fellows home and even a private home; before finding it’s current home on King Highway.
Until the early 1950’s, mail came into Comstock via train. According the the Comstock Bicentennial Commemorative Book, Comstock had a unique way of sending and receiving mail. A mechanical arm was installed at the crossing on 26th street that held a mail sack. Outgoing mail could be picked up the same time incoming mail was thrown out. One train from each direction stopped once a day to deliver and pick up mail.